Program

                                                               DAY 1, May 20 (Thursday)—POETRY

1. Welcome (Beijing 8 pm, Sofia 3 pm, London 1 pm, New York 8 am, Los Angeles 5 am)

Livia Kohn & Dessislava Damyanova: Welcome and Greetings

Birte Timmsen: Seven Steps of Inner Preparation: Practical Advice for Inner Work Based on Wudang Daoist Exercises

Brian Glaser: Reading of Daoist Poetry

2. Dao in Verse (Beijing 8:45 pm, Sofia 3:45 pm, London 1:45 pm, New York 8:45 am, LA 5:45 am)

Antoaneta Nikolova: Poetry as Actualization of Dao

John Leonard: The Daoist Dickinson

3. Poetry (Beijing 9:30 pm, Sofia 4:30 pm, London 2:30 pm, New York 9:30 am, LA 6:30 am)

Zornica Kirkova: Court Poetry and Daoist Revelations in Early Medieval China

Thomas Hahn: From Xie Lingyun to Kang Youwei: The Literary Heritage and Poetic Exaltations Attached to the Yandang Mountains

4. Lyrics (Beijing 10:15 pm, Sofia 5:15 pm, London 2:15 pm, New York 10:15 am, LA 7:15 am)

Xin Yang: Transcendence as Religious Belief and a “Surviving Project”: A New Investigation of Xi Kang’s Poems of Roaming into Transcendence

Yanning Wang: Dreaming of the Female Immortal: Xu Xishen’s Prose and Poetry

                                                                   DAY 2, May 21 (Friday)—MYTH

5. Myths and Tales (Beijing 8 pm, Sofia 3 pm, London 1 pm, New York 8 am, LA 5 am)

Dong Tiezhu: 十日神与庄子的(The Myth of the Ten Suns and Zhuangzi’s Qiwulun)

Yu Ling余玲: 道教遇仙传说中的星宿分野论举隅: 以代杜光庭《御史姚生》之女宿为例 (Horoscope Jurisdictions in Daoist Tales of Encountering Immortals: Du Guangting’s Yushi Yaosheng)

6. The Yongle gong (Beijing 8:45 pm, Sofia 3:45 pm, London 1:45 pm, New York 8:45 am, LA 5:45 am)

Ma Xing马惺: 永乐宫吕洞宾显化故事的壁画美学研究 (Tales of Dongbin in the Murals of the Yongle gong)

Zhao Wei 赵伟: 永乐宫重阳殿壁画叙事性图像生成机制浅析 (The Generating Mechanism of the Narrative Images in the Chongyang Hall of the

Yongle gong)

7. Myth in Art (Beijing 9:30 pm, Sofia 4:30 pm, London 2:30 pm, New York 9:30 am, LA 6:30 am)

Lennert Gesterkamp: Wang Ximeng’s Thousand Miles of Streams and MountainsA Song Landscape Painting and its Story of Daoist Self-Cultivation

Fan Zhen 范桢: 翟汝文与《朝元仙仗图》再探 (Di Ruwen and the Chao yuanxian zhangtu)

8. Myth in Cultivation(Beijing 10:15 pm, Sofia 5:15 pm, London 2:15 pm, New York 10:15 am, LA 7:15 am)

Li Cuiqin: Imagination of the Sun and the Moon and Taoism Cultivation

Luo Yanling: Symbols of Nature in On the Regulation of Breath

9. Internal Alchemy (Beijing 11 pm, Sofia 6 pm, London 3 pm, New York 11 am, LA 8 am)

Esmaeil Radpour: The Symbolist and Non-Symbolist Mentalities According to Liu Yiming

Lokmane Benaicha: Xiyou ji, the Journey to the West: The Essence of Internal Alchemy

                                                             DAY 3, May 22 (Saturday)—FICTION

10. Early Literature (Beijing 8 pm, Sofia 3 pm, London 1 pm, New York 8 am, LA 5 am)

Wang Jiazhe 王佳哲: 老子之“道”的神话溯源 (The Mythical Origins of Laozi’s Dao)

Zheng Zhilian郑志恋 and Zhang Jiayi章家旖: 基于“问礼”典故探寻老子之“礼”蕴 (Exploring the Story of Confucius asking Laozi about the Rites)

11. Comparisons (Beijing 8:45 pm, Sofia 3:45 pm, London 1:45 pm, New York 8:45 am, LA 5:45 am)

Cai Juemin蔡觉敏: 道经到通俗小说中的道术之变: 以《神仙传》与《三言》为例 (Changes in Daoist Arts from the Daode jing to Popular Fiction: The Shenxian zhuan and the Sanyan)

Li Juntao李俊涛: 征服死亡: 道教度亡经典与埃及亡灵书的思想与意象比较研究 (Daoist Manuals on Dying and the Egyptian Book of the Dead in Thought and Imagery)

12. Imperial Fiction (Beijing 9:30 pm, Sofia 4:30 pm, London 2:30 pm, NY 9:30 am, LA 6:30 am)

Brigitte Baptandier: The Lady of Linshui in Ming Novels

Guo Wu 郭武: 关于道教文学研究之回顾与批评 (Trends in the Study of Daoist Fiction)

13. Film & Theater (Beijing 10:15 pm, Sofia 5:15 pm, London 2:15 pm, New York 10:15 am, LA 7:15 am)

John Voigt: Daoist Energetics as Entertainment: The Force in Star Wars

Wujun Ke: The Philosophy of Ineffability in Edward Yang’s Film Yi Yi

Michael Friedrichs: Looking for the Way, Bertolt Brecht Finds Laozi

                                                               DAY 4, May 23 (Sunday)—THOUGHT

14. Classical Philosophy (Beijing 8 pm, Sofia 3 pm, London 1 pm, New York 8 am, LA 5 am)

Li Chih-Ping 李智平: 復反之道:老子與剝、復二卦詮釋視域的比  (The Dao of Reversal: A Comparison of Pei and Fu in the Laozi and the Yijing)

Shen Ming-Chang 沈明昌: 從道德經論靜坐的自然概念: 以《法華上乘正宗靜坐基礎教材》為例 (Naturalness and Quiet Sitting in the Daode jing: In Light of the Fahua jiaocai)

15. Han Visions (Beijing 8:45 pm, Sofia 3:45 pm, London 1:45 pm, New York 8:45 am, LA 5:45 am)

Yuan Qing 袁青: 清華簡《越公其事》與黃老學的政治思想 (The Yuegong qishi and Huang-Lao Political Thought)

Chao Chung-Wei趙中偉: 元氣包裹,化生天地八方:《太平經》神話思維的分析研究(Primordial Qi Contains and Produces the Universe: Mythical Thought in the Taiping jing)

16. Epistemology (Beijing 9:30 pm, Sofia 4:30 pm, London 2:30 pm, New York 9:30 am, LA 6:30 am)

Loren Stiteler: Grasping the Clear: Epistemology in Early Daoist Literature

Friederike Assandri: Making Sense of the Daode jing: Literary Devices in Cheng Xuanying’s Expository Commentary

17. The Zhuangzi (Beijing 10:15 pm, Sofia 5:15 pm, London 2:15 pm, New York 10:15 am, LA 7:15 am)

Tan Mingran: How Zhuangzi’s Inner Chapters Emerged

Wei Qianqian: Mythical Sage Rulers in the Zhuangzi

                                                    DAY 5, May 24 (Monday)—ALLEGORIES AND CONNECTIONS

18. Notions of Return (Beijing 8 pm, Sofia 3 pm, London 1 pm, New York 8 am, Los Angeles 5 am)

Aiguo Han: The Way to Dao Cannot Be Repeated

Wu Zhongxian: Fanhuan zhi dao – The Way of Returning

19. Water Imagery (Beijing 8:45 pm, Sofia 3:45 pm, London 1:45 pm, New York 8:45 am, LA 5:45 am)

Manuel Parreno Pinol: The Meaning of Water in the Daode jing

Abraham Poon: Water as a Symbol of the Great Dao: Literature, Philosophy, Science

20. Gods and Sages (Beijing 9:30 pm, Sofia 4:30 pm, London 2:30 pm, New York 9:30 am, LA 6:30 am)

Zhang Wanrong 张琬容: 明清時期文學中的城隍神與同性戀者 (City Gods and Homosexuals in the Literature of Ming and Qing Dynasties) 

Serban Toader: A Short Tale of Louguantai

21. Communication (Beijing 10:15 pm, Sofia 5:15 pm, London 2:15 pm, New York 10:15 am, LA 7:15 am)

Zhang Yuanjie: Truth and Fiction: The Construction of the Daoist Image in the Newspapers in the Late Qing and Republic of China

Hirsh Diamant: Tigers, Sages, and other Beasts: Stories and Archetypes of the Chinese Zodiac in the Curriculum

22. Ways of Life (Beijing 11 pm, Sofia 6 pm, London 3 pm, New York 11 am, LA 8 am)

Valery Ivanov: The Daoist Way in Contemporary Business Management

Dessislava Damyanova: The Daoist Discourse on Nature